Home Stretch

This is all coming to an end.

I find my emotions towards these last 3 weeks to be more depressed than excited. I wish it wasn’t so hard, and I wish time would even slow down a little.

I’m trying so hard to take everything in, but the days here fly by. I wish I could remember every single thing that made me laugh, every moment I felt a sense of belonging, or when I started to understand everything. However, that’s impossible, and slightly frustrating.

I’m not ready. That basically sums up everything.

I have this massive part of my heart dedicated to Spain. Every single person I’ve met while being here has a spot. Even down to do that kid who thought it would be funny to call me “cheeseburger”. It’s a weird thing, because no one gets how much they mean to me.

I just can’t stop thinking about everything.

More than anything, I’m just incredibly happy for this. All of it.

One thought on “Home Stretch

  1. Hey Em, I haven’t been the best at keeping up with the blogs, but I just read this one and got teary-eyed! I’m so happy you feel that sense of belonging and have made so many friends and had so many wonderful experiences! Spain will stay in your heart forever, like that first love 🙂 You are amazing and I’m sure everyone there will miss “la Americana y la rubia”, as much as you’ll miss them. There will be opportunities in the future to meet up again whether you visit Spain or they visit here. The door was there for you to open and explore a new world, and you took it on full force. Home is a temporary place to reconnect with family and friends and plan your next adventure!! This year has flown by when I look back. I’m looking forward to having you home and hearing all your stories, I’m sure you have a million. We’ll keep talking Spanish so you don’t get rusty……….I don’t know about the lisp thing, that should be fun to hear 🙂 xo

Leave a comment