Barcelona

Barcelona is where I spent this past 5 day weekend.

I went with my sub tutor from school, her husband, and two kids. We left on Wednesday, and as I squished into the middle seat of the small car between the two car seats of a four and a six year old, I just reminded myself of the destination. We stopped in a small village on the way, as well as Zaragoza, and although it elongated the trip by 3 hours, it was worth it.

Once we got there around 9:30, I was greeted by the family, who were all incredibly nice. It will never seize to amaze me how no matter where I go, or who I am with, people are there with open arms, welcoming me into there home, or life. It’s great.

The first full day, I went with the tutor and her two kids around the city and out to the beach, getting a brief tour, and seeing all the typical touristy things of the city.

The next day I went to the Sagrada Familia, which is a cathedral that is still in the making. The architect had started building the cathedral when he died, and left only a blue print behind. Because the type of architecture is so complicated, the construction team has trouble on a daily basis constructing the figure based off of the drawing left behind. For this reason, it’s still not finish, after at least 100 years of building.

The last full day there, which was Saturday, I went into the city on bike with a friend of the family’s. They had a communion to go to and I was sent out to explore. As I navigated through the bust streets and tried to keep up with the hard core biker, I was able to experience things from a different view.

We left at 10 in the morning and didn’t get back until 8:30. Although it was a long, sweaty day, I enjoyed it. We ended the day on a lookout at the highest point in the city. Another memory.

And today I headed back to school, with under two months to go.

I think I figured this thing out. The truth is I am so excited to go home, but on the other hand, I know that once I say goodbye, that’s it… at least for awhile. So therefore, since I don’t want to say goodbye for good, I’m not ready to go yet.

However, there’s no avoiding what’s to come, so until then, it’s all about enjoying these last weeks, which are unfortunately filled with exams, which fortunately don’t matter…. too much.

With that being said, here are some pictures, to illustrate the trip:

001 002 003 007 009 011 012 013 014 018 019 020 022 023 025 028 032 035 039 042 043 047 049 050 055 056 058 060 061 062 063

2 thoughts on “Barcelona

Leave a comment